Search

link to homepage

Navigation and service


Research in HNF

The HNF has no own research projects, but supports the users at the implementation of their works. An abstract of the users and their research can be found in the subsequent list.

Bild6_dV_jpg

Theoretical Nanoelectronics (PGI-2)

The quantum mechanical nature of matter is the basis of all functioning of electronic devices, and can be the basis of a new form of information processing.

Scanning Tunneling Hydrogen Microscopy

Quantum Nanoscience (PGI-3)

We investigate the physics and chemistry of surfaces and interfaces, focussing in particular on their nanostructure and their functionality.

logo_ism

Quantum Materials and Collective Phenomena (JCNS-2/PGI-4)

We develop and use scattering techniques to understand the structural and magnetic order, fluctuations and excitations in magnetic systems and in highly correlated electron systems at the atomic level.

report-2007-tantalum_jpg

Microstructure Research (PGI-5) / Physics of Nanoscale Systems (ER-C-1)

Development of new procedures for understanding material properties on the atomic level with a special focus on ultrahigh resolution electron microscopy techniques.

PureSpin_jpg

Electronic Properties (PGI-6)

We explore the interrelations between electronic structure and physical properties like magnetism and magnetic phenomena, e.g. by applying synchrotron radiation techniques.

phenomena_jpg

Electronic Materials (PGI-7)

We do research together with our partner institute at RWTH Aachen University for the nanoelectronic of the future. For this, we investigate electronic phenomena in oxides and electronically active organic molecules.

pgi9_jpg

Semiconductor Nanoelectronics (PGI-9)

The institute investigates fundamental problems in semiconductor physics and in semiconductor materials.

NanoCrossbarArray

JARA-Institute Green IT (PGI-10)

We develop novel devices and architecture concepts for merging logic and storage components on computer chips. The institute bring together expertise from physics, nanotechnology and electrical engineering in Jülich and Aachen in order to combine ultra-low power logic with novel energy-efficient memristive devices at the nanometer-scale.

sequences

JARA-Institute Quantum Information (PGI-11)

Our institute pursues a diverse set of topics that further our theoretical understanding of electronic systems and devices at nano- and atomic scales, and the application of these small quantum systems to new forms of information processing.

IBI-2

Mechanobiology (IBI-2)

IBI-2 is dedicated to the experimental study of the mechanobiology of living cells of animal and human origin. Our work focuses on the interplay of molecular architecture and mechanical properties, the interaction of cells with substrates and neighbouring cells, as well as the recognition and processing of mechanical signals by cells. These issues are of the utmost importance fro the production of biofunctional materials ("tissue engineering") and for the understanding of many physiological and pathological processes such as the development of the central nervous system, tissue degeneration in cadiovascular or skin diseases, and tumrourigenesis. For this research, modern methods of cell biophysics and molecular cell biology are applied and, if necessary, further developed.

IBI-3

Bioelectronics (IBI-3)

Our research is focused on bioelectronics, a field of research in the convergence of biology and electronics. In particular, we exploit biological materials and biological architectures for information processing systems and new devices which can be used as sensors, actuators, and biomedical devices. A key aspect is the interface between biological materials and electronics.

Image About ER-C-2

Materials Science and Technology (ER-C-2)

We aim at providing an atomic level understanding of fundamental physical properties of structural and functional materials. Applications range from modern steels to novel computer memories and include low-dimensional materials as well as hybrids between hard and soft matter. Interdisciplinary activities focus on materials for energy harvesting, storage and conversion.

More: Materials Science and Technology (ER-C-2) …

Research cryomicroscopy

Structural Biology (ER-C-3)

We study the structural biology of essential cellular processes using electron cryo-microscopy (cryo-EM) as our central experimental tool.

More: Structural Biology (ER-C-3) …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Navigation und Service


Forschung in der HNF

Die HNF betriebt keine eigene Forschung, sondern unterstützt die Nutzer in der Umsetzung ihrer Arbeiten. Einen Auszug aus den Nutzern und deren Forschung finden Sie in untenstehender Liste:

Bild6_dV_jpg

Theoretische Nanoelektronik (PGI-2)

Die quanten-mechanische Natur der Materie stellt die Grundlage aller existierenden Bauelemente dar und kann auch die Grundlage einer neuen Art der Informationsverarbeitung sein.

Scanning Tunneling Hydrogen Microscopy

Quantum Nanoscience (PGI-3)

Wir untersuchen die physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften von Oberflächen und Grenzflächen. Besonders interessieren uns ihre Strukturen im Nanometerbereich und ihre Funktionalität.

logo_ism

Quantenmaterialien und kollektive Phänomene (JCNS-2 / PGI-4)

Wir entwickeln und nutzen Streumethoden, um die strukturellen und magnetischen Ordnungen, Fluktuationen und Anregungen in magnetischen Systemen und in hochkorrelierten Elektronensystemen auf atomarer Ebene zu verstehen.

report-2007-tantalum_jpg

Mikrostrukturforschung (PGI-5) / Physik Nanoskaliger Systeme (ER‑C‑1)

Neuartige Verfahren zum Verständnis von Materialeigenschaften auf atomarer Ebene, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf ultrahoch auflösender Elektronenmikroskopie.

PureSpin_jpg

Elektronische Eigenschaften (PGI-6)

Wir erforschen die komplexen Zusammenhänge zwischen der elektronischen Struktur von Materialien und ihren physikalischen Eigenschaften. Dazu nutzen wir u. a. Synchrotronstrahlung und betreiben eigene Strahlrohre.

phenomena_jpg

Elektronische Materialien (PGI-7)

Wir forschen zusammen mit unserem Partnerinstitut an der RWTH Aachen für die Nanoelektronik der Zukunft. Dafür untersuchen wir elektronische Phänomene in Oxiden und elektronisch aktive organische Moleküle.

pgi9_jpg

Halbleiter-Nanoelektronik (PGI-9)

Das Institut beschäftigt sich mit grundlegenden Fragen der Halbleiterphysik, der Halbleitertechnologie und der Bauelementphysik.

NanoCrossbarArray

JARA-Institut Green IT (PGI-10)

Wir entwickeln neuartige Bauteile und Konzepte für Architekturen, die eine Verschmelzung von Logik- und Speichertechnologie auf Computerchips ermöglichen sollen. Unser Ziel ist es, „ultra-low power logic“ mit neuartigen energieeffizienten Memory-Speichern im Nanometerbereich zu kombinieren.

sequences

JARA-Institute Quantum Information (PGI-11)

Unser Ziel ist ein besseres theoretisches Verständnis elektronischer Systeme und Bauteile auf atomaren und Nanoskalen sowie die Anwendung solcher kleinen Quantensysteme für neue Formen der Informationsverarbeitung.

IBI-2

Mechanobiologie (IBI-2)

Das IBI-2 widmet sich der experimentellen Untersuchung der Mechanobiologie lebender Zellen tierischen und menschlichen Ursprungs. Im Zentrum der Arbeiten stehen das Wechselspiel von molekularer Architektur und mechanischen Eigenschaften, die Wechselwirkung von Zellen mit Substraten und benachbarten Zellen sowie die Erkennung und Verarbeitung mechanischer Signale durch Zellen. Diese Fragenkomplexe sind von größter Bedeutung für die Herstellung von biofunktionalen Materialien ("Tissue Engineering") sowie für das Verständnis vieler physiologischer und pathologischer Prozesse wie Entwicklung des Zentralnervensystems, Gewebsdegeneration bei Herz-Kreislauf- oder Hauterkrankungen und Tumorgenese. Für diese Forschungsaufgabe werden moderne Methoden der Zellbiophysik und molekularen Zellbiologie eingesetzt und bei Bedarf entwickelt.

IBI-3

Bioelektronik (IBI-3)

Wir forschen im Bereich der Bioelektronik, einem interdisziplinärem Wissenschaftsgebiet an der Schnittstelle von Biologie und Elektronik. Insbesondere nutzen wir biologische Materialien und biologische Architekturen für informationsverarbeitende Systeme und neue Anwendungen, wie z.B. Sensoren, Aktoren und biomedizinische Geräte. Ein Schlüsselaspekt bei unseren Forschungsaktivitäten ist das bessere Verständnis der Schnittstelle zwischen biologischen Materialien und Elektronik.

Image About ER-C-2

Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik (ER-C-2)

Die Aktivitäten in ER-C-2 zielen auf ein atomares Verständnis von Strukturen, Eigenschaften und Funktionsmechanismen in Strukturwerkstoffen sowie funktionalen und elektronischen Materialien.

Mehr: Materialwissenschaft und Werkstofftechnik (ER-C-2) …

Research cryomicroscopy

Strukturbiologie (ER-C-3)

Der Bereich Strukturbiologie am Ernst Ruska-Centrum (ER-C-3) untersucht mit der Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie (Kryo-EM) als zentraler Methode die strukturelle Biologie grundlegender zellulärer Prozesse.

Mehr: Strukturbiologie (ER-C-3) …


Servicemenü

Homepage