Navigation and service

Conversion technologies for a sustainable energy future

IEK-14 provides technologies as well as processing concepts and models for the sustainable energy systems of the future that use fuel cells, electrolysis, and fuel synthesis.

IEK-14 is one of the subinstitutes within the Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK) at Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH that focuses on engineering research. IEK-14 aims to conduct research that is socially, ecologically and economically relevant and thus generate ground-breaking results on an international level. This quality of work is achieved through basic research, which is closely coordinated with technical development work in relevant scientific and technical fields of expertise. International cooperation projects with partners from research and industry are particularly important in this respect.


IEK-14 has roughly 100 employees. Its scientific and technological core competences are electrochemistry and energy process engineering. With its application-oriented research objectives, IEK-14 develops water electrolyzers with polymer electrolyte membranes and alkaline electrolytes, solid oxide fuel cells, and generation systems for synthetic fuels. This involves the modeling, implementation, experimental investigation, and process analysis of energy systems and their components as well as electrochemical processes and process control.


IEK-14 focuses on implementing results from research in innovative products, procedures, and processes in cooperation with industry. It is keen to make a contribution to bridging the gap between science and technology. Collaboration with universities, universities of applied science, training departments, and training centers is designed to promote opportunities for further education and training.

Profil

Navigation und Service

Umwandungstechnologien für eine nachhaltige Energiezukunft

Das IEK-14 liefert Technologien sowie Verfahrenskonzepte und –modelle für zukünftig nachhaltige Energie-systeme mit Brennstoffzellen, Elektrolyse und Kraftstoffsynthese.

Das IEK-14 ist ein ingenieurwissenschaftlich orientierter Instituts-bereich des Instituts für Energie- und Klimaforschung (IEK) in der Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH. Die Forschungsarbeiten des IEK-14 sollen bei gesellschaftlicher, ökologischer und ökonomischer Relevanz im internationalen Vergleich Spitzenergebnisse erbringen. Diese Qualität der Arbeit soll durch grundlegende Forschung in enger Koordination mit technischen Entwicklungsarbeiten in relevanten, wissenschaftlich-technischen Kompetenzfeldern erzielt werden. Hierbei kommt internationalen Kooperationen mit Partnern aus Forschung und Industrie besondere Bedeutung zu.


Mit etwa 100 Mitarbeitern verfügt das IEK-14 über die wissenschaftlich-technischen Kernkompetenzen Elektrochemie und Energieverfahrenstechnik. Mit anwendungsorientierter Zielausrichtung erforscht und entwickelt das IEK-14 Wasserelektrolyseure mit Polymerelektrolytmembran und alkalischem Elektrolyt, Festoxidzellen, und Erzeugungssysteme für synthetische Kraftstoffe. Dies beinhaltet die Modellierung, Realisierung, experimentelle Untersuchung und verfahrensanalytische Betrachtung der Energiesysteme, deren Komponenten sowie elektrochemischer Vorgänge und verfahrenstechnischer Prozessführungen.


Das IEK-14 ist auf die Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse in innovative Produkte, Verfahren und Prozesse in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie ausgerichtet und will einen Beitrag leisten zur Überbrückung der Kluft zwischen Wissenschaft und Technik. Angebote zur Aus- und Weiterbildung stehen im Fokus der Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Lehrwerkstätten und Ausbildungszentren.

Profil