Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research
Theory and Computation of Energy Materials (IEK-13)

Navigation and service

Materials and Technologies for Next-Generation Energy Supply

One of the biggest challenges for the global community is the transition of the current energy system towards sustainable and highly efficient technologies for energy conversion and storage, like fuel cells, electrolysis cells (for water splitting and CO2 reduction), and batteries. The success of this transition hinges on the development of functionally optimized, environmentally friendly and economically feasible materials. With its focus in theory, modeling and computation of energy materials, IEK-13 provides essential contributions for the fundamental understanding of electrochemical phenomena, the development and characterization of tailored material solutions, and the testing and optimization of energy technologies. We harness a broad spectrum of methods to achieve these goals, ranging from quantum mechanical simulations to physical-mathematical approaches. This enables us to describe structure and charge transfer at interfaces and transport processes in multi-phase composite materials with the highest possible spatial and temporal resolution, to uncover local reaction conditions and mechanisms, and to establish relations to effective properties and performance at the cell and component level. Our research program offers versatile interfaces for model evaluation by comparison with experiments, knowledge transfer to material design and development, and testing and analysis of innovative materials, components and cells under real operating conditions. Complementarily, we are developing a platform for virtual material design, enabled with methods of Artificial Intelligence.

Materialien und Technologien für die Energiewende

Focus

Computergestützte Materialmodellierung

Computational Materials Modeling (CMM)

The division Computational Materials Modeling focusses on the development and application of methodologies for simulations on atomic and molecular scales. We apply these methodologies for investigations of structure and dynamics at electrochemical interfaces and in nanoscale materials. More: Computational Materials Modeling (CMM) …

Theory of Electrochemical Interfaces and Materials

Theory of Electrochemical Interfaces and Materials (TIM)

The theory division is concerned with the development of mathematical-physical formalisms to describe materials phenomena on all scales. Abstract models are formulated and solved with approaches that originate from the fundamental physical disciplines. More: Theory of Electrochemical Interfaces and Materials (TIM) …

Physical Modeling and Diagnostics

Physical Modeling and Diagnostics (PMD)

To enable novel energy technologies, we develop a fundamental understanding of electrochemical materials, components and devices as well as methods for their development, optimization and characterization. More: Physical Modeling and Diagnostics (PMD) …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung
Theorie und computergestützte Modellierung von Energiematerialien (IEK-13)

Navigation und Service

Materialien und Technologien für die Energiewende

Der Übergang zu nachhaltigen und hocheffizienten Technologien der Energieumwandlung und -speicherung, wie z.B. Brennstoffzellen, Elektrolysezellen (für Wasser oder CO2) und Batterien, ist von höchster Priorität für die globale Gemeinschaft. Die erfolgreiche Gestaltung dieses Übergangs hängt von funktional-optimierten, umweltverträglichen und finanziell tragbaren Materialien ab.  Mit der Fokussiering auf Theorie und computergestützte Modellierung von Energiematerialien leistet das IEK-13 essentielle Beiträge zum Grundlagenverständnis elektrochemischer Phänomene, zur Entwicklung und Charakterisierung maßgeschneiderter Materiallösungen, und zur Erprobung und Optimierung zukunftsfähiger Energietechnologien. Für die Erreichung dieser Ziele kommt ein breitgefächertes Methodenspektrum zum Einsatz, welches sich von quantenmechanischen Simulationen hin zu physikalisch-mathematischen Kontinuumsansätzen erstreckt. Dadurch können wir Struktur und Ladungstransfer an Grenzschichten und Transportprozesse in Multiphasen-Kompositmaterialien mit größtmöglicher räumlicher und zeitlicher Auflösung beschreiben, lokale  Reaktionsbedingungen und –mechanismen aufdecken und Relationen zu effektiven Eigenschaften und zur Performanz auf Zell- und Bauteilebene herstellen. Unser Forschungsprogramm bietet vielseitige Schnittstellen für die Modellevaluierung durch Vergleich mit Experimenten, den Wissenstransfer zu Materialdesign und -entwicklung, und die Erprobung und Analyse innovativer Materialien, Komponenten und Zellen unter realen Betriebsbedingungen. Komplementär entwickeln wir eine Plattform für Materialdesign unter Einsatz von Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz.

Materialien und Technologien für die Energiewende

Fokus

Computergestützte Materialmodellierung

Computergestützte Materialmodellierung (CMM)

Die Abteilung Computergestützte Materialmodellierung konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung von Simulationsmethoden auf atomarer und molekularer Ebene. Wir setzen diese Methoden für Untersuchungen der Struktur und Dynamik an elektrochemischen Grenzflächen und in nanoskaligen Materialien ein. Mehr: Computergestützte Materialmodellierung (CMM) …

Theorie von elektrochemischen Grenzschichten und Materialien

Theorie von elektrochemischen Grenzschichten und Materialien (TIM)

Die Theorie-Abteilung befasst sich mit der Entwicklung mathematisch-physikalische Formalismen zur Beschreibung von Materialphänomenen auf allen Längenskalen. Abstrakte Modelle werden formuliert und mit Ansätzen, die den grundlegenden physikalischen Disziplinen entstammen, gelöst.
Mehr: Theorie von elektrochemischen Grenzschichten und Materialien (TIM) …

Physikalische Modellierung und Diagnostik

Physikalische Modellierung und Diagnostik (PMD)

Um neuartige Energietechnologien zu ermöglichen, entwickeln wir ein grundlegendes Verständnis elektrochemischer Materialien, Komponenten und Apparate sowie Methoden für deren Entwicklung, Optimierung und Charakterisierung. Mehr: Physikalische Modellierung und Diagnostik (PMD) …


Servicemenü

Homepage