Navigation and service

Three New Bodies to Coordinate Human Brain Project

Jülich, 27 July 2016 – The Human Brain Project (HBP) is entering its operational phase with an all-new management structure. Three bodies will in future be responsible for various areas of the HBP: the Stakeholder Board (SB), Science and Infrastructure Board (SIB), and Directorate (DIR).

Decisions will ultimately be taken by the Stakeholder Board, which is comprised of one representative from each HBP member state. Chairman of the Stakeholder Board is Prof. Matthew Lambon-Ralph (University of Manchester). Prof. Wolfgang Marquardt, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich and Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, was nominated to be Germany’s representative by the 21 German partners in the HBP. During its first meeting in June, the SIB and Directorate representatives were confirmed in office by the members of the Stakeholder Board, who are elected by the scientists involved in the HBP.

The Science and Infrastructure Board is central to the HBP, providing scientific leadership of the Core Project. It is responsible for managing the implementation of the scientific and infrastructure Work Plan, and for proposing work plans and roadmaps for each SGA. All scientific decisions are made by this board. It is composed of eleven Subproject (SP) Leaders, who were proposed and elected by Work Package and Task Leaders. At the start of June, the SIB elected Prof. Katrin Amunts (Forschungszentrum Jülich and Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf) as Chair.
Prof. Alois Knoll (Technical University of Munich) and Prof. Karlheinz Meier (Heidelberg University) were elected Vice-Chairs for the areas of Software and Infrastructure, respectively.

The Directorate is responsible for the management of the Core Project. Prof. Philippe Gillet from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL) was appointed Director General by the EPFL, which also coordinates HBP. Additional members include the SIB Chair and her deputies, as well as an Executive, an Ethics, and an Innovation Director.

The bodies will continue to coordinate the project for the remaining 7.5 years. The new management structure is part of agreements that were signed by the partners in the Framework Partnership Agreement on 30 October 2015.

The complete composition of the bodies is as follows:

The Stakeholder Board (SB):

  • Patrick AEBISCHER (Switzerland)
  • Antonio GUGLIELMELLI (Italy)
  • Joseph KLAFTER (Israel)
  • Matthew LAMBON-RALPH (United Kingdom)
  • Gonzalo LEÓN (Spain)
  • Wolfgang MARQUARDT (Germany)
  • André SYROTA (France)
  • Antonio DAMASIO (Portugal)
  • Saso DZEROSKI (Slovenia)
  • Rob HEINSBROEK (Netherlands)
  • Szabolcs KÁLI (Hungary)
  • Lars KLÜVER (Denmark)
  • Gunnar LANDGREN (Sweden)
  • Steven LAUREYS (Belgium)
  • Marja-Leena LINNE (Finland)
  • Hans PLESSER (Norway)
  • Alois SARIA (Austria)
  • Serkan UCER (Turkey)
  • Vasilis VASSALOS (Greece)

The Science and Infrastructure Board (SIB):

  • SP1 Javier DEFELIPE
  • SP2 Katrin AMUNTS
  • SP3 Cyriel PENNARTZ
  • SP4 Alain DESTEXHE
  • SP5 TBD
  • SP6 Henry MARKRAM
  • SP7 Thomas LIPPERT
  • SP8 Ferath KHERIF
  • SP9 Karlheinz MEIER
  • SP10 Alois KNOLL
  • SP12 Kathinka EVERS

The Deputy SP Leaders are:

  • SP1 Egidio D’ANGELO & Sten GRILLNER
  • SP2 Jean François MANGIN & Francesco PAVONE
  • SP3 Johan STORM
  • SP4 Idan SEGEV & Viktor JIRSA
  • SP9 Stephen FURBER
  • SP10 Marc-Oliver GEWALTIG
  • SP12 Jean-Pierre CHANGEUX

The Directorate (DIR):

  • Director General - Philippe GILLET
  • Scientific Research Director - Katrin AMUNTS
  • Software Development Director - Alois KNOLL
  • Infrastructure Operations Director - Karlheinz MEIER
  • Executive Director - Chris EBELL
  • Ethics Director - Bernd STAHL
  • Innovation Director - TBC

Further information:

HBP press release

Human Brain Project governance

Communications & Press relations HBP:

Anouchka Jacquier
Tel.: + 41 21 693 1819

Press contact at Forschungszentrum Jülich:

Dr. Anne Rother, Head of Corporate Communications
Tel.: +49 2461 61-4661