Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research
Electrochemical Process Engineering (IEK-3)

Navigation and service

Conversion technologies for a sustainable energy future

noPlaybackVideo

DownloadVideo

The transition to a sustainable energy system requires the deployment of a range of efficient technologies for the conversion, storage and distribution of renewably-generated power and heat. The IEK-3 is at the forefront of this endeavor. In collaboration with national and international partners from research and industry, we develop solutions for mobile and stationary applications and conduct groundbreaking research into Electrochemical Systems and the use of hydrogen as an energy carrier, including its production, distribution and storage. Additionally, we formulate concepts and models for the energy system of the future.

Focus

High-Temperature Fuel Cell Achieves Lifetime of More Than 11 Years

Jülich, 7 February 2019 – They waited for it to achieve a lifetime of 100,000 hours before gradually bringing their lifetime test to a close a few days ago: researchers from Forschungszentrum Jülich developed a fuel cell and operated it at a temperature of 700 °C for more than 11 years. During its lifetime, this high-temperature fuel cell produced electric power for more than 10.5 years – longer than any other high-temperature fuel cell so far. More: High-Temperature Fuel Cell Achieves Lifetime of More Than 11 Years …

HT-PEFC-Stack

Research topics

The key fields of scientific and technical competence are low-temperature water electrolysis, reversible solid oxide cells (rSOCs), auxiliary power units (APUs) with reforming of liquid energy carriers that could be used to provide hydrogen in fuel cells, fuel synthesis and energy systems analysis. More: Research topics …

BRINKS

Committee Work

IEK-3’s national and international reputation in the field of fuel cells and hydrogen technology is reflected in the fact that IEK-3 scientists are members of and collaborate with national and international committees. More: Committee Work …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung
Elektrochemische Verfahrenstechnik (IEK-3)

Navigation und Service

Umwandlungstechnologien für eine nachhaltige Energiezukunft

noPlaybackVideo

DownloadVideo

Der Übergang zu einem nachhaltigen Energiesystem erfordert den Einsatz neuer, effizienter Technologien für das Umwandeln, Speichern und Verteilen von regenerativ erzeugten Strom und Wärme. Das IEK-3 steht an der Spitze dieser Bemühungen. Gemeinsam mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern aus Forschung und Industrie entwickeln wir Lösungen für mobile und stationäre Anwendungen. Wir erforschen Wasserstoff als Energieträger und wie wir diesen effizient produzieren, verteilen, speichern und nutzen können. Zudem arbeiteten wir an wegweisenden Innovationen für Elektrochemische Systeme und verwandte Technologien und entwickeln Konzepte und Modelle für das Energiesystem der Zukunft.

Fokus

Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle erreicht mehr als 11 Jahre Lebensdauer

Jülich, 7. Februar 2019 – Die 100.000 Stunden Lebensdauer hatten sie noch abgewartet, dann leiteten Wissenschaftler vom Forschungszentrum Jülich vor einigen Tagen schrittweise das Ende ihres Langzeitversuchs ein. Mehr als elf Jahre lang hatten sie eine von ihnen entwickelte Brennstoffzelle bei einer Temperatur von 700 Grad betrieben. Über zehneinhalb Jahre lang lieferte die Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle während dieser Zeit Strom, so lange wie noch keine andere Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle zuvor. Mehr: Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle erreicht mehr als 11 Jahre Lebensdauer …

HT-PEFC-Stack

Forschungsthemen

Deutsch: Wissenschaftlich-technische Kernkompetenzfelder sind Niedertemperatur-Wasserelektrolyse, reversible Festoxidzellen (rSOC), Bordstromversorgung mit Reformierung von flüssigen Energieträgern, die zur Wasserstoffversorgung von Brennstoffzellen genutzt werden sollen, sowie Kraftstoffsynthese und Energiesystemanalyse. Mehr: Forschungsthemen …

BRINKS

Gremienarbeit

Die national wie international anerkannte Kompetenz des IEK-3 auf dem Gebiet der Brennstoffzellen- und Wasserstofftechnik schlägt sich auch in der Repräsentanz und Mitarbeit von IEK-3-Wissenschaftlern in nationalen und internationalen Gremien nieder. Mehr: Gremienarbeit …


Servicemenü

Homepage